“The Hook: The Most Famous Blogger You’ve Never Heard Of!”

What do you think of my new tagline?

I was inspired by a colleague who actually believes – God bless her – that I’m famous now. My response?

“I’d rather be rich and unknown than poor and famous.”

What say you, friends? Are you blogging/writing for fame? Money? To get lucky? All of the preceding?

That’s it for now, I’m afraid; it’s been completely crazy in my corner of Niagara lately and I’ve had little time for all of the things that bring me pleasure. However, I’ll be guest posting on a certain Crazy Working Mom’s blog soon and I couldn’t be happier!

More details to follow…

BEFORE WE PART WAYS…

Do yourself a favor and check out Jo Bryant’s blog. She’s one of the “good ones”, as they say. Besides, it’s always a good idea to get in on the ground floor…

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to “The Hook: The Most Famous Blogger You’ve Never Heard Of!”

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww shucks Hook she says blushing profoundly. This BTW is not a good look on her…hehehe.
    Thank you – you are soooooooo nice.

  2. Brother Jon says:

    All of the missionaries that come through think I’m famous. They always ask my stats and stuff (which seem okay to me, but they go crazy over them) One of them asked me a few months ago if I was going to let someone “Guest Star” on my blog? Don’t I have to be a “Star” before I do that?

  3. I actually like the new tagline. Me, I blog just for the heck of it. To see if I could actually do it and keep at it. Maybe after some more time I will decide where I want to take my site.

  4. El Guapo says:

    Well, they threw me out of group therapy, so I guess blogging is the way to go … ;)

  5. MishaBurnett says:

    Well, it beats, “With a name like The Hook, it’s got to be good!”

  6. I like it! You should be famous!

  7. Lily says:

    Originally I just started blogging for myself–just a little journal, type thing. But it does make me curious to think I could be making money and become well-known from it! Hmmm maybe some day…

  8. Yup, Jo rocks my boat too! So, have you stopped by My Caymanian Life???

  9. twindaddy says:

    I blog because I like to write and I enjoy all of the back and forth with my readers.

    As for the new slogan…I’ve already heard of you so it really doesn’t fit now, does it?

  10. rossmurray1 says:

    I began blogging because I wanted to expand an audience for the pieces I write for my local paper and radio. At 85 followers, the expansion is somewhat, hmmm, glacial. But I’ve become hooked by the community of bloggers, as well as the feedback and humbling wit of so many writers.

  11. I’ll take “rich and unknown,” too. ;-) … I originally started blogging to chronicle my writing journey. It eventually became a social outlet, and I hope to get Susan Hunter’s name out there and into the world. … Have fun guest posting at Striking Mom’s!

    • The Hook says:

      I will. And I’ll be giving you a shout-out soon, Maddie! Maybe you could write a mini-epic involving a meeting between your character and a certain bellman in Niagara Falls?

  12. I started blogging, as you know, by accident. Don’t kid yourself…I’m hoping for a little cash in the bank as a result but only time…which seems to be ticking by very slowly at this point, will tell. People always ask me if I will quit my job with a book deal or tv/movie. This is a hard question as I really love what I do in my non blogging time, but hell..the government doesn’t pay that much. I continue to write because I truly love it..so at this point I am famous, or infamous and not rich:)
    That blogger you are guest appearing on is very lucky to have you :)
    J

  13. Kim says:

    I blog because people yell at me whenever I try to stop… ;)

  14. I blog because I am a musician and inorder to have my art heard I need to get out there!!! Well this is part of it.
    I am trying to let people know who I am and maybe make them smile. Hopefully when the old album is finished they will listen and add it to there life’s soundtrack. I like to help people and calm and raise spirits. Maybe because I am looking to have mine calm and raised!

  15. Le Clown says:

    The Hook,
    I blog, therefore I’m Le Clown.
    Le Clown

  16. nikkix2 says:

    I blog purely for the sexual “connections” which well, hasn’t worked out to well since all the good one’s are married,gay or virgins,,,,,sigh….

  17. Hook – send me money to an anonymous account – all will be well….all. will. be. well…just do it, man!

  18. Bob Lee says:

    Damn … always posing questions that force people to think … (lol) I’m with you though one hundred percent – I’d love to be rich & unknown than poor & famous.

  19. I’ve heard of you, Hook… so that makes you famous.
    And I blog for the sheer blogging of it!

  20. Hey – it is a great tag line. (and you did have that super fan in the elevator…..)
    I blog because for years I had to keep quiet so as not to jeopardize funding – or irritate important/”sensitive” people. What fun is that?( matched the windowless room of the last office…)

  21. At first.. this was a place to “store” my recipes, poems, writing, etc.. for my kids.. but then it became a social place!! Who knew how many great bloggers I’d meet!! Now I’m off to visit your friend!

  22. Sandi Ormsby says:

    It’s hard to be rich and “unknown” because everybody wants you to donate to their cause or be your friend!

  23. 1jaded1 says:

    I prefer to read and comment rather than blog. Please let us know more. So sad. :-( Leah

  24. MissFourEyes says:

    I like your tag line! One tiny problem though, we’ve all heard of you and you have a kind-of-sort-of stalker.
    I blog because it’s better than therapy/shopping/silent rooms/parties/meaningless mind-numbing conversations with real people/facebook….the list could go on.

  25. >The Hook: The Most Famous Blogger You’ve Never Heard Of!
    – How about:

    ‘The Hook: The Most Famous Blogging Bellman You’ve Never Heard Of!’?

    >Are you blogging/writing for fame?
    – With the way I hide behind my middle name and clumsy swipes of Paint? Nah.

    >Money?
    – Did not ever think of this possibility. Wait. I said ‘possibility’! I also say, ‘Never say never.’!

    >To get lucky?
    – Hmm. I know of couples who met on line who went on to get married.

    But betrothed via blogging?

    Answer to my own question: My response to ‘Money?’ above. *grin*

    >All of the preceding?
    – None, actually.

    I began blogging to give back what I got from other blogs for years – learning new things and laughing at other things.

    >“I’d rather be rich and unknown than poor and famous.”
    – Rich and unknown – now THAT’s tempting.

    It is almost as unheard of as ‘poor and famous’, but if there’s a way to achieve either, then ‘rich and unknown’ for me it is!

    Kate

  26. I wouldn’t say you’re not famous. I’ve heard of you all the way on the other side of the blogosphere. It’s my bad for not getting over here until now.

  27. The party line is that I blog for the creative outlet, but the shameful truth is that I’m just in it for the attention. I just love the spotlight… Off to check out your friend Jo now!

  28. You’re totes famous man! :) At least to all of us!

    I started blogging because it was faster than writing individual emails about how I was doing while abroad. But then I really enjoyed it, so I kept doing it! It’s so cathartic, fun, and I just love the blogging community!

  29. Michelle says:

    Awesome tagline!! Although you do have a lot of followers….

Leave a Reply

