Happy Birthday, Jack.

HOOK’S NOTE: Technically, this post isn’t effective until tomorrow, but my blog, my rules…

Today is a very special day.

Several years ago – the exact number is irrelevant for our purposes – a man named Jack Fisher was born. He has gone by many names over the course of his life. Here are a few:

  • John.
  • Poppy.
  • Poopsie.
  • Satchamo.
  • JAAACK! Okay, that one was reserved for his wife, but I had to include it.

But to me, he’ll always be “Dad”. Yes, he’s my actually my father-in-law, but as you’re about to see, he’s earned a higher title in my life. Without further adieu, here are a few reason why Jack Fisher deserves a hearty “HAPPY BIRTHDAY!” from all of you, my friends…

HE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR 10% OF TIM HORTONS’ NET SALES.

For the uninitiated: Tim Hortons is a coffee and donut shop that is as Canadian as hockey and not cheating on your taxes. Canucks love their “Timmies” and my father-in-law is no exception. He visits three times a day to meet his circle of friends and have a cup ‘o Joe. And while my math may be a bit inaccurate, its not that far off the mark. Trust me.

HE LOVES ANIMALS.

Well, dogs anyway. His most loyal companion is a Shih Tzu and yet, he hasn’t lost his manly ruggedness. How many guys with small dogs can say that?

THE TERM “JACK-OF-ALL TRADES”? IT WAS DESIGNED FOR HIM…

He can fix your sink, your furnace, your faulty light socket, whatever. If he ever serves me with a bill for services rendered, I’ll have to take a dive into the Falls and let my wife use the insurance policy as a down payment.

HE COULD TEACH A DOG A THING A TWO ABOUT LOYALTY.

Seriously the man pulls out his wallet if even thinks I need a buck or two – or a few thousand. He once put me up for years. We formed our own version of the Bunker household – without the rampant racism or the gratuitous use of the word dingbat, of course.

I’VE BECOME A BETTER MAN AND FATHER BECAUSE OF HIM.

I grew up surrounded by love and guidance, but you’re never too old to learn something new. That was the first lesson Jack taught me. It certainly wasn’t the last.

A father has one purpose in life: to give his family everything they need to live, thrive and survive in this world. Period.

Many people aspire to be good, loving parents, but I’m not sure how many of them actually put their money where their mouth is. But I can honestly say that my father-in-law is a man of honor. A man worth emulating. A man worthy of respect.

Happy Birthday, Jack.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Hotel Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Happy Birthday, Jack.

  1. workspousestory says:

    This is very touching. Jack sounds like a great man, and I’m sure he’s proud of you too!

  2. rebecca2000 says:

    Happy birthday to the daddy that helped make you so wonderful!

  3. Happy Birthday Jack! The world is better with you in it. Thanks for being there

  4. twindaddy says:

    It’s great to have in-laws like that. My in-laws are pretty awesome, too.

  5. Ray's Mom says:

    Happy birthday Jack, you must be a fine man to love coffee, family and dogs.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Hubby has in laws like that! Happy birthday Jack.

  7. Beautiful! A happy birthday to Jack from me! =D

  8. gatesitter says:

    Happy Birthday to Jack ! Hook, you show true respect and honor to him with your post, showing you are both good men. :)

  9. Dec 4 is my daughter’s birthday; today actually here in Oz.
    Jack has to be a good guy for that reason alone however, he has a Shih Tzu… now that’s gotta be one of the best reasons why he MUST be a great guy…
    Lucky you, my dear Hook..! :)

  10. Diane C says:

    This post put tears in my eyes. My dad, who died almost three years ago, was named Jack. He sounds so similar to your father-in-law it is uncanny. What is it about the name Jack that makes a man clever, handy, loyal and highly ethical? I raise my virtual glass to all men named Jack.

  11. JackieP says:

    Happy Birthday to Jack! If Jack lived where I do we would have met at Timmies! I am also a Timmyholic! I get 3 coffees a day from there. We would get along fine, because I also have a Shih Tzu dog , named Sam! He sounds like a great man Hook! And you sound like a great Son-in-law! Good going both of you!
    My Dad had a small dog named Princess, they were loyal to each other to the end. Best buds. It takes a true man to have a little dog and no one thinks anything of it.

  12. susielindau says:

    Happy Birthday Jack! What a great tribute Hook!

  13. Kerry says:

    Love your writing!

  14. renxkyoko says:

    I can tell you really, really admire your father-in-law ! Jack is also lucky to have a son-in-law like you who loves his daughter. I will also love any in law of mine , in the future, who will love my children.
    happy Birthday, Jack!

  15. leah says:

    Happy Birthday to Jack! He is teaching by the same example that you are passing down to your daughter. Love it!

    PS They have Timmies in Detroit..they are the absolute best and I stock up when I visit.

  16. Happy Birthday, Jack! … Wonderful tribute, Robert. You shared him with us in such a way that I wish I had an opportunity to know him – and his dog.

  17. Bob Lee says:

    Happy Birthday to your Dad (in-law). You actually make me want to bump into him when getting a cup o’ coffee. He sounds like a wonderful and generous person and I hope he has many more birthdays to share with you and your family.

  18. Wow! So touching to see this sort of admiration for a father-in-law. Happy birthday indeed.

  19. MissFourEyes says:

    A very happy birthday to your father-in-law! He sounds like a great man.

  20. mairedubhtx says:

    What a nice tribute to your dad.

  21. raisingdaisy says:

    Happy birthday Jack! What a rare man your father-in-law is, Hook. You’re so blessed to have him in your life.

  22. littlesundog says:

    Hey, Shih Tzu’s ARE a manly dog! They are ferocious and loyal. The cute and adorable look is simply a tactic to charm the ladies… or whoever. I had my Shih Tzu, Boogaloo, with me a couple of times when stopped by the highway patrol (for speeding), and my Boogie was so charming that I drove off with just a warning ticket. Jack sounds like a great fellow. May he have the happiest of birthdays!

  23. Happy birthday to your FIL. What a lovely tribute. My FIL passed away this August. I miss him.

  24. munchow says:

    Everybody has heard about the expression «a keeper». But this must be the first time it’s applicable for a father-in-law. Seems like you married very wisely, my friend. :-). Happy birthday to the great man!

  25. That was such a nice birthday post. He’s as lucky to have you in his life, I hope he thinks of you with such wonderful words!!!
    Happy Birthday to him, and Kudos to you and your writing!

  26. >Technically, this post isn’t effective until tomorrow, but my blog, my rules…
    - D#mn straight.

    Okay. I’m sure you would have guessed that I bounced all over the place reading this post. I’ll type out my thoughts as I read each line. It’s possible that some of my thoughts got vocalised. Uh, yes, I talk to my screen sometimes. Okay, a lot.

    >Several years ago – the exact number is irrelevant for our purposes – a man named Jack Fisher was born.
    - Oh. A post about … a colleague or a teacher or an author I haven’t heard of, his boss ….

    >But to me, he’ll always be “Dad”.
    - *squeal* A post about Hook’s daddy!

    > Yes, he’s my actually my father-in-law
    - Hook’s wife’s daddy! Same difference! *squeal*

    >HE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR 10% OF TIM HORTONS’ NET SALES.
    - Timmies!

    >Canucks love their “Timmies”
    - *grin* He said ‘Timmies’!

    >He visits three times a day to meet his circle of friends
    - Sigh. I wish I could meet my friends that often.

    >HE LOVES ANIMALS.
    - Now I REALLY like Mr.Fisher.

    >He can fix your sink, your furnace, your faulty light socket, whatever.
    - Oh, I could have SO much fun learning about this stuff! (I’m quite nosy about how things work.)

    >He once put me up for years.
    - *straightening up in my seat* Now THAT is something. It’s official. I like Mr.Fisher.

    >I grew up surrounded by love and guidance, but you’re never too old to learn something new. That was the first lesson Jack taught me. It certainly wasn’t the last.
    - Wise man.

    >A father has one purpose in life: to give his family everything they need to live, thrive and survive in this world. Period.
    - Amen, brother.

    >Many people aspire to be good, loving parents, but I’m not sure how many of them actually put their money where their mouth is.
    - But it IS hard being a parent. (I’m not one.)

    >But I can honestly say that my father-in-law is a man of honor. A man worth emulating. A man worthy of respect.
    - A tip of my imaginary hat to you, Mr.Fisher.

    Of all Mr.Fisher’s wonderful traits, I think I like his generous heart the most. When people in our lives spout pledges of support, how many actually follow through? Just like being a responsible parent, being a friend in need is bloody hard indeed. I’m sure that being there for your family, quite literally, was the true pillar that held the roof over your heads when you all bunked Bunker style.

    Yet another blessing in your life, Hook. But do you know what I like the most about your words? That they are not part of Mr.Fisher’s eulogy.

    And d’ya know why I didn’t turn into a puddle over this post? Because I was too busy beaming at the thought of Mr.Fisher savouring it today.

    Happy Birthday, Vampire Lover’s Daddy!

    Kate

  27. Wow.. this man sounds like the perfect father.. your post would be so touching for him to read. He must be such a great mentor to you. Happy Birthday, Jack!!

  28. El Guapo says:

    Happy belated birthday, Jack!
    And kudos to both of you for meshing yourselves like that through the connection of your wife, Hook!

  29. Although I am more of a Starbucks fan, today I thought of Jack and bought a Tim’s. Very touching post! I am also blessed with an amazing father in-law who has helped shaped my adult self. Your words made me smile about a man I don’t even know and reminded me to be thankful for the one I do know.
    J

  30. Happy belated birthday Jack.
    Rob, It’s encouraging to me (one who has always been let down) to hear that there are men who happily fulfil their responsibilities.
    When I hear dedications like yours, it fills me with the hope that one day my sons (and possible son-in-laws) will have similar words to say about me.
    Great post my friend…
    By the way, I’ve been reading your book on my train journeys and in the process I’ve been drawing a lot of attention to myself as I try to minimize my laughter.
    You’re a very funny guy Mr Hook. ;-)

  31. The Guat says:

    “A father has one purpose in life: to give his family everything they need to live, thrive and survive in this world. Period.” This is one of the best fatherhood quotes I’ve read. Sounds like a great guy.

  32. Why am I late to all the parties?????

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY JACK!!!!!

Leave a Reply

