Boxing Day Shenanigans With The Hook!

 

To be clear, my Boxing Day does not consist of battles with strangers for a deal on electronics or bedding accessories.

But that doesn’t mean there isn’t a conflict or two. The usual hi-jinks are doubled over the holidays.

  • There are still crazy, impatient crowds battling each other for a spot on the elevators which quickly become overcrowded (go figure, right?) and inevitably, break down.
  • Confusion – in dozens of languages – reigns supreme. “How do I get my car?” is the most common query thrown my way.
  • “Where can I get a cart-thingy?” is the other, of course!
  • People still drag coolers across marble floors that cost thousands of dollars to maintain. It’s not their money, right?
  • Middle-aged idiots in bad hairpieces still try to pass hookers off as their girlfriends. And the hookers still throw phrases like “It’s the biggest I’ve ever seen, baby!” their way!
  • People still sort through their luggage after they’ve requested we store it. There’s nothing I enjoy more than standing around while a guest roots through their belongings – especially when it’s busy!
  • And Australians still suck really hard. Like, Jenna Jameson, hard!

And that’s pretty bad!

As you may have surmised, I was stiffed by a couple of Australian lasses today. They were cute but fat lot of good that did me. I’m married with a family and a mortgage; unless cute becomes a currency, I’m out of luck! They flashed me a couple of high-wattage smiles too, which only served to highlight their ignorance when it came to tipping.

Okay, I feel better now.

Jenna Jameson

Image via Wikipedia

 By the way, this was the cleanest Jenna pic available to me. Not that VampireLover will care; I’ll still get ribbed either way!

Where were we?

Oh yeah, Boxing Day! I had another family that left me in the cold – literally! These folks were much more appreciative of my twenty-minute wait on the valet deck  – and they showed it! The Dad even loaded the cart himself.

Normally, I’d be a little cheesed off by his boldness but Grandpa called him out and he apologized – and then returned to work hurling the bags on the cart. I’ll say this for him, he did a good job! I can’t throw bags,  so it was kinda fun to watch someone else treat their luggage like an airline employee would. 

As I’ve said, they took their time retrieving the cars but it was worth it; I even received an actual pat on the back and a “Have a Happy New Year, man!” You really can’t ask for much more these days.

As for my Christmas day, it was perfect! VampireLover gave me the best gift a blogger could ever receive: not a book deal, a laptop! Pretty cool, right? As for my lovely child, she catered to the fanboy in me with Supernatural season 4!  

Supernatural (season 4)

Image via Wikipedia

The Winchester boys rock! They get to shoot the crazed beasts they encounter! If only…

On that note, enjoy the remainder of your holiday season, friends.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Hotel Employees, Hotel Life, Humor, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Boxing Day Shenanigans With The Hook!

  1. Gillian Colbert says:

    Back at ya, Hook. Have a happy new year!

  2. El Guapo says:

    At least the Australians were nice about not tipping you…
    Middle-aged men with hookers never gets old!

    Have a Happy New Year, Hook!

    • The Hook says:

      I’d rather they be mean about stiffing me! A smile implies smugness and seems to enrage people!
      Enjoy your New Year, as well my friend.

      • El Guapo says:

        I wonder, is tipping common in the countries your guests come from (like Australia)? Or is it thought that (like in some countries), the tip is built in to the bill?

      • Theasaurus says:

        In defence of the Australians, we don’t tip in this country as a rule. It’s easy for us to forget to tip when travelling abroad because it’s not something we’re used to doing. Like El Guapo suggests, tipping is built into our wages/the bill. When additional tips are left, they’re often split evenly between staff who work in that area.

        The smiles were probably pure Aussie ignorance, Hook, and not an attempt to blow your top.

      • The Hook says:

        You’re probably right. Thanks for the input.

      • Theasaurus says:

        On the other hand, those damn Aussies should’ve read their Lonely Planet guides more closely to check whether tipping was expected. You have every right to be enraged.

      • The Hook says:

        I was, but it passes – until the next incident occurs!

      • Theasaurus says:

        Let’s hope it’s not anytime soon!

    • As an Australian, I automatically ‘stiffened’ when reading that sentence, but as a reply here from Thesaurus, tipping os not something done here, so many people, mainly the ignorant, wouldn’t even think of it. And yes, the smile does imply smugness, as though that is a way of saying thanks… or you’re on the bottom of the pile. Oersonally, I think the people ‘behind the scenes’ or on the floor are what make a hotel run smooothly or at all. Have a great new year and I look forward to more :) Master the art of being politely rude, specially to the dumb-ass old men or silly blondes.

  3. susielindau says:

    Excellent! Vampirelover rocks! You will love your laptop.
    Sorry about the Aussies. What they lacked in tipping I am sure they made up in there awesome friendliness. That has always been my experience!

  4. Okay, I’m a “newbie” to your blog here… I’ve often seen you refer to “Vampirelover.” Who is this?

  5. Can’t go wrong with Sam and Dean!

  6. mizqui says:

    Wow — I’m a SUPERNATURAL Fan too. But no one catered to the little fangirl in me (@ Christmas). lol! Oh well, I can always lean back on you HOOK — for any details I missed in Season 4. Right?

    Anxiously awaiting the SUPERNATURAL 2012 Season Premier in January,
    Qui
    HOOK’ed — in all the right places. lol!

  7. Raven says:

    It doesn’t get much better does it!?! I nearly fell off my chair with “Middle-aged idiots in bad hairpieces still try to pass hookers off as their girlfriends” Donchaluvit??? LMAO
    Good thing for family! They make it all worthwhile.
    smiles,
    Rx

  8. I would suppose New Year’s Eve brings out a whole new crowd of weirdos to hotels. I wonder ever post I read about the amount of luggage people travel with verses what they need. When we travel we take as little as possible, even with 4 kids. I wonder the same thing on an airplane when people attempt to smash their stuff in the overhead bin.

  9. The word ‘shenanigans’ makes anything sound fun, doesn’t it?

  10. I’m suddenly very grateful for the comparatively mild shenanigans of my workplace! :)

    Happy new year, Hook!

  11. elizadolly says:

    I would like to apologize on behalf of all Australians to everyone in the rest of the world. We don’t have tipping here! So it confuses us that you do.
    Haha. Sorry!

  12. Woman says:

    Supernatural…. I agree!!! I love that show. I adore how they mock the other and then banter and then try to use order of birth to win. I find it more fun to watch because of their relationship than the story or the lore.

    And yes! Happy New Year, man!!!

  13. Another day – another adventure, Hook. May New Years send in the (polite and generous) high rollers to ya’. Enjoy the laptop!

  14. brittany220 says:

    Glad you had a great Christmas Hook! Hope you are enjoying the new laptop and movies! :) Have a Happy New Year!

  15. eyeLaugh says:

    a lap top?! Heck YES!

  16. Jeanne Heuer says:

    I’m not sure what Boxing Day celebrates, I’ll have to consult the google-meisters. Nice present. My son got one too. We let him order it since gamers have certain criteria.

  17. mLr says:

    G’day mate, just wanted to concur with the others that tipping is not the done thing in Australia. The girls were no doubt just saying thanks with a smile and it never occurred to them to tip. Either that or they were just plain bitches, who knows? lol

  18. Here’s my Jared Padeleki story – I had a friend come over the week I watched a Gilmore Girl’s marathon (purely coincidence) and I brought up what I had been up to. They asked what I thought of Dean on the show, and my response was that he needs to cut his hair. I liked him as an actor, but all I did was talk about his hair. The couple said they had just had him over for dinner b/c they are friends with his sister! I lost my chance to meed JP by dissing him as a joke. And then he showed up to my Hubs’ graduation b/c his sister was graduating the same year. It was a small crowd so my aunt thought she would smooooothly stand up and stare at him while waiting for everyone to be seated. I guess as if she was waiting for someone else to come in? He left and came back right as the thing started. Because of all the staring.

    I hear he’s just really really nice. And has much better hair now that he’s on Supernatural.

  19. PM says:

    that was sure some flurry of activities going on! happy new year to you!

  20. Fiona says:

    Happy New Year, Hook, thanks for the laughs. Hope your guests discover their manners next year! And I’m an Aussie (whoops lol) I have to say, no we don’t understand tipping at all – and i’m sorry! I’ll remember when I go to a country that does tip :)

  21. meredith says:

    i hope the new year brings you lots of happiness and, of course, tips! :)

  22. mairedubhtx says:

    I don’t know much about Supernatural but I’m sure it rocks.

  23. littlesundog says:

    I love the bad hairpieces bit… I’m sure there are plenty floating around out there! EGAD. Awesome on the laptop gift… you must have been very good this year, Hook??

  24. Kanerva says:

    I’ll add my voice to the chorus of Aussies apologising for our lack of tipping.

    May you get a better batch of Aussies next time round!

    Happy New Year, I look forward to reading more ;)

  25. Happy New Year my friend xox

  26. jakesprinter says:

    Excellent post again my friend :)

  27. Jo Bryant says:

    You got a laptop AND SEASON 4 OF SUPERNATURAL…I’m sending my kids over for lessons from your family. Actually I can’t complain – I did pretty well…hehe, but SUPERNATURAL SEASON 4 – I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo jealous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has what has to be my favourite episode – YELLOW FEVER – love that one, just love it. And the clip at the end of Jensen singing EYE OF THE TIGER – okay that’s it, I need to go find a towel to wipe up the drool before it soaks through everything…
    And BTW – not all Australians are cheap – we just never have to tip over there. Actually tipping is not a biggie here in NZ either. It’s our naivety that’s to blame when we are let loose in the big wide world…

    • The Hook says:

      I haven’t had a chance to watch any of the season yet, but now I can’t wait! And I know Aussies are cool people, my friend! Their views on tipping just make for great blog fodder!

      • Jo Bryant says:

        Their views on a LOT of things make great blog fodder…hehe. Not watched Season 4 – shame on you…let me know when you do what you think of the Yellow Fever episode. I still laugh every time i watch it. Oh and when you get the the last episode…surprise, surprise !!!

      • The Hook says:

        I look forward to it…

  28. sonsothunder says:

    Happy New Year Brother!!!

  29. ♥ z i i A n ♥ says:

    wOw! SuperNatuRaLs :D

  30. I hope the guests are smarter, kinder and better tippers this coming year! congrats on the laptop, VampireLover is so cool!

  31. giselzitrone says:

    Wünsche dir lieber Hook ein gutes neu Jahr 2012 und alles liebe und gute lieber Gruss Gislinde.

  32. Aussie girl; stayed at the Fairmont, San Francisco (great city) two years ago. Partner understood tipping; bellboys happy with good tipping Aussies ‘with smiles’. We had gone to a baseball game (wow, that was great) received 2 little figurines of Pablo Sandoval. One of the guys at the Concierge desk who had got the tickets for us, told us about the little figurines and how he’d love one. That night partner gave him a figurine. When we left, some days later, we were asked to go to the Concierge desk where there was a most beautiful picture book of San Francisco waiting for us from guess who?… Warm and fuzzy feelings all round. Sorry it wasn’t you, my friend.

  33. khushjenny says:

    Wow, Beautiful post ..Hook.. :) Happy new year :)

  34. Connie Wayne says:

    Congratulations on your recent nomination by Island Traveler for the Hope Unites Globally HUG Award. To accept the award and learn how to share it with others, please read the Guidelines at http://ahopefortoday.com/2012/01/14/hope-unites-globally-hug-award-guidelines/. Blessings, Connie at A Hope for Today

  35. Pingback: To tip or not to tip | A Taswegian in Finland

Leave a Reply

