Help, I’m Experiencing “Personal Holiday Overload”!

Valentine’s Day, two birthdays and an anniversary in one month. Did I mention this  “Personal Holiday” windfall falls on the same month my usual cash flow is reduced to a pathetic trickle? When will the madness end?

Next month, apparently.

In the meantime, I have to contend with a crazy holiday pumped up by advertisers to ridiculous proportions and risk life and limb in a mad frenzy to find the “perfect card” to express what I should be telling “the wife” every day anyway!

And then the birthdays begin; the first six days after the sting of Valentine’s Day has begun to fade from my consciousness. The second, five days after that, brings with it the dreaded question, “What do you want for your birthday, Dad?”

Nothing against my daughter, but my answer is always the same, “Comics.” Mind you, Sarah loves going to Pulp Comics anyway, but only for her own stuff! A twelve-year-old girl really doesn’t want to search out comics for her Dad’s birthday. Not when she could be watching Glee!        

At any rate, I forgot to mention the requisite birthday cake I have to covertly arrange for VampireLover. Would you like to guess what theme we go with every..single..year?

Finally, we reach the final and trickiest “Personal Holiday” of all – the anniversary. Get this one wrong, fellas and it’s your cahones that will pay the price. Trust me.

Don’t get me wrong, I know how lucky I am to have found a beautiful woman to even look at me, never mind become my wife. It’s the fact VampireLover means so much to me that makes me nervous when it comes to honoring what we have together.

So if my blog suffers for a few days this month please cut me some slack. My brain, not the sharpest to begin with, has been wore down to a shriveled stem.

About The Hook

Husband. Father. Bellman. Author of The Bellman Chronicles. Reader of comic books and observer and chronicler of the human condition. And to my wife's eternal dismay, a mere mortal and non-vampire. I'm often told I look like your uncle, cousin, etc. If I wore a hat, I'd hang it on a hat rack in my home in Niagara Falls, Canada. You can call me The Hook, everyone else does.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Life, Postaweek2011, Social Commentary, Uncategorized, Valentines Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Help, I’m Experiencing “Personal Holiday Overload”!

  1. laavventura says:

    Happy … well, uh, everything! Have a great month.

  2. humanitarikim says:

    Happy…. Holidays? Yes, that covers them. Enjoy!

  3. March on Hook, I’m sure you are man enough ! :)

  4. inidna says:

    Wow, busy doesn’t cover it huh? So little time… So much … Everything else! Happy Everything Month Mr. Hook–it’s almost coming to an end :)

  5. melsar93 says:

    Just remind yourself that these are good problems to have. (It won’t make it less stressful, but it sounds good.)

  6. classyrose says:

    Sounds like you’re having a rough time. Cheer up, things have to get better soon. :-)

  7. bmj2k says:

    I feel you. My brithday, my brother’s birthday, my girlfriend’s birthday, Hannukah, and Christmas all fall within two weeks of each other, more or less.

  8. Fox@n says:

    Wow thats kool but its hard to get much money for all that stuff that is being done in one month. In my family everyones birthday goes every month so it starts in feb, march, april, may, june, then aug, then nov …..so you know im always broke till aug.lol happy holidays

  9. dtrasler says:

    We spaced our celebrations out, but that means a birthday a month from February right through to June. Plus all the weasel friends who have parties and suchlike shennanigans. Two parties last weekend, two this weekend, and then we have a weasel birthday crop up again. I think you have me outclassed though. Comics for your birthday! Lucky man!

  10. brittany220 says:

    Hope you had a great Valentine’s Day with your wife and had a wonderful birthday too!

Leave a Reply

